Russell Simmons and Dr. Benjamin Chavis announced today (February 13) that their Hip-Hop Summit Action Network will be honoring a group of artists and executives at the 5th Annual Action Awards ceremony later this month. The honorees include, Snoop Dogg, Jim Jones, pioneering MC Doug E.Fresh and Chris Lighty of Violator Management. The Awards will recognize the honorees for their commitment to community service and empowerment. R&B artist Ciara and Mellody Hobson, President of Ariel Capital Management, will also be honored. The event will be co-chaired by Stephen Hill, Executive VP at BET, and Chaka Zulu, CEO of Disturbing Tha Peace Records. “HSAN holds the Action Awards to celebrate the importance of people taking action to give back to our communities,” Russell said in a statement. “Snoop, Ciara, Doug E., Chris, Jim, and Mellody represent the best of hip-hop and all have uniquely and effectively given back their time, money and energy to help improve the quality of life of all people. HSAN, therefore, is proud to honor each of them with the 2008 Action Award." The 5th Annual Action Awards will take place at Capitale in New York City on February 25.