A little over 10 years after dropping Below the Heavens, Blu & Exile return with In the Beginning: Before the Heavens, a prequel to their West Coast boom bap opus.

Fueled by lethal Exile production and the dexterous raps of one of the hip-hop's premier lyricists, Before the Heavens is a collection of cuts that didn't make it to the pair's 2007 album. Now this is just what the fans ordered.

Before the Heavens offers fans of the original a chance to see some rare gems from Blue & Exile's catalog. While Blu's definitely dropped some strong projects since Below the Heavens, he knows fans love his music from that era more than anything.

"I wanted to release this project because so many people love Below the Heavens, more than all my albums, so it was a no-brainer to feel open to give the fans more music from that era," Blu told XXL when he and Exile premiered their song "Back to Basic's" with us a few weeks ago. "Imagine if we didn't have any extra songs?"

Check out In the Beginning: Before the Heavens for yourself via SoundCloud below.

Blu & Exile's In the Beginning: Before the Heavens Tracklist

1. "Soul Provider"
2. "Another"
3. "Constellations"
4. "Another"
5. "Party of Two"
6. "Back to Basic's"
7. "On the Radio"
8. "You're Gonna Die Some Day"
9. "Life Is a Gamble"
10. "Things We Say"
11. "Hot For Yall"
12. "Hard Workers"
13. "Sold the Soul"
14. "Stress Off the Chest"


See 10 Critically-Acclaimed Books Rappers Live By