Last night, hip-hop’s legends and current acts gathered at the Harman Center for Arts for the Hip-Hop Inaugural Ball. Featuring the likes of John Legend, MC Lyte, Doug E. Fresh, 2 Chainz, Meek Mill and more, the event honored President Obama’s work and hip-hop's instrumental role in his reelection.

Originally launched by Russell Simmons, the event was hosted by La La Anthony and Terrence J, which meant it was arguably the most star-studded affair of the weekend. You can check out our breakdown of which artists received awards below.

1. John Legend receives the humanitarian award, says, hip-hop has played a big part in President Obama’s campaign. “"I think hip-hop had a role in making sure we elected a black president in America because we made it so that black people were in people's homes ... through our music and through our culture.”

2. Mc Lyte and Doug E. Fresh were both given lifetime achievement awards.

3. 2 Chainz received the street soldier award for being the spokesperson for the Hip-Hop Caucus’ “Respect My Vote!”campaign.

4. Actress Rosario Dawson won the vanguard award for her position as chairman of the Voto Latino organization.

5. Swizz Beatz and Meek Mill were honored at the event.

Props HuffPo

More From XXL