2016 was a landmark year for Shy Glizzy thanks to his latest project Young Jefe 2, one of the strongest within his deep catalog. But the 24-year-old D.C. rapper has drastic plans for the new year, and he's kicking it off by officially changing his name to Jefe.

Along with the announcement comes a new song "One" produced by Zaytoven, which you can hear above. The song is off Jefe's upcoming The World Is Yours EP, dropping this Friday (Jan. 6).

"I’m just rebranding myself. Reinventing on a whole higher level," Glizzy told The Fader. "I earned the title Jefe. It comes with maturity, more responsibility, and putting more people in the position of being a boss in every aspect. With a name like that, you don’t have a choice. From the get go I’ve been putting on for the city. That’s already been established. As Jefe, Shy Glizzy, or whatever name I’m going by — as a person, I represent for D.C. in every way possible."

The World Is Yours will features guest appearances from YoungBoy Never Broke Again, Ralo, 3 Glizzy and Kash Doll. You can pre-order the EP on iTunes right now. It's set to be released via Glizzy Gang/300 Ent.

Jefe's The World Is Yours Tracklist

1. "Get Money 4Life" Feat. YoungBoy Never Broke Again
2. "Errywhere"
3. "One"
4. "Give It Up" Feat. 3 Glizzy
5. "Take It Off"
6. "Love Me" Feat. Ralo
7. "Over the Hills" Feat. Kash Doll
8. "Congratulations"

The 50 Best Rap Projects of 2016

More From XXL