Boston-based MC, Michael Christmas, seemed to spend most of 2017 planning, plotting and strategizing the next step in his career. After inking a deal with the respected indie outfit, Fool's Gold Records, in April, Christmas delivers his first project on the label, Role Model, on Friday (June 22).

Christmas has been whetting fans' appetites for the new album over the last few months, releasing the tracks "Ball," produced by Thelonious Martin and Aniko Thomas, and "Girlfriend." The 15-song album features guest spots from Cousin Stizz, G Perico, Domo Genesis and more.

Role Model was preceded by 2016's Lady Parts with Prefuse 73 and the solo EP, Baggy Eyes.

According to Christmas, there is a certain motivation behind the new release and its title. "Essentially what this album is capturing is me trying to teach the kids (which I use my sisters as the vessel for) how I maneuver through the craziness we see every day," he recently revealed about the new project. "I had been questioning for a long time whether I’m a good role model or not and came to the conclusion that I am a piece of shit… but who better to lead the kids through this piece of shit world than me? So I made an album talking about the way I see things and my life as of late while having my sisters watch me and pick up on these things themselves."

Listen to Michael Christmas' new Role Model album below.

Michael Christmas' Role Model Album Tracklist

1. "Intro"
2. "These Days"
3. "Honey Berry"
4. "Girlfriend"
5. "Everybody" featuring Cousin Stizz
6. "Upset"
7. "Not for Me"
8. "Polo Sweater" featuring G Perico and Domo Genesis
9. "Ball"
10. "Growing Up"
11. "Brown Sugar"
12. "Special Occasion"
13. "Not the One" featuring Tobi Lou
14. "Angels & Demons"
15. "Outro"

Fool's Gold Records
Fool's Gold Records

See New Music Releases for June 2018

More From XXL