Two years after signing to J. Cole‘s Dreamville Records, Lute is gearing up to drop his new project, West 1996 Part 2, this Friday (Sept 29). Before the album drops, the Charlotte MC releases his second single "Premonition" featuring new labelmates EarthGang and producer Cam O’bi. For "Premonition," Lute, Doctur Dot and Johnny Venus drop verses over smooth drums.

Back in 2012 Lute dropped West 1996, an 11-track project that caught the attention of Cole, who said at one point that Lute was the hottest rapper in Charlotte. With West 1996 Part 2 dropping tonight, fans get to hear Lute's journey since signing to Dreamville.

“My album is a accumulation of chapters and events leading up to Dreamville signing me,” says the 28-year-old rapper in his documentary Still Slummin’ that dropped last week. “It’s a window into the last five years of my life: the obstacles, the challenges, the changes. It’s also motivation to not let people or circumstances define who you are. My only competition is the person I was yesterday. I’ve been patient and very appreciative of this platform and now its time to show what I’m capable of.”

Listen to "Premonition" below.

Lute’s West 1996 Pt. 2 Tracklist

1. “Morning Shift”
2. “Still Slummin’”
3. “Home” Feat. Elevator Jay
4. “Ambitions”
5. “Git Up” Feat. GQ Slaughter
6.” Juggin’”
7. “Ford’s Prayer” Feat. Cam O’bi
8. “Crabs in a Barrel”
9. “Premonition” Feat.  EarthGang and Cam O’bi
10. “Birds & Bees”
11. “Livin Life” Feat. High I’m Ry

See 25 of the Best Hip-Hop Projects of 2017 (So Far)

More From XXL