Rap pioneers LL Cool J and the Beastie Boys have both been nominated, yet again, to be inducted for the new class of Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Both acts were on the ballot in the past, but failed to make it in. In order to become eligible, the artist’s debut album or single had to be released at least 25 years ago. Then a list of 500 musicians and industry professionals make the final decision, set to be announced in December.

Also on this year’s ballot is Bon Jovi, Alice Cooper, Tom Waits, Neil Diamond, Donovan, Laura Nyro, Dr. John, the J. Geils Band, Donna Summer, Chic, Darlene Love, Joe Tex and Chuck Willis.

The 26th annual induction ceremony will take place on March 14 at New York City’s Waldorf Astoria Hotel.

So far the only hip-hop acts to be inducted into the Hall was Run D.M.C. in 2009 and Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five in 2007. —Elan Mancini