When Common, Grammy-winning pianist-producer Robert Glasper and drummer-producer Karriem Riggins announced they were linking up to form the group, August Greene, we knew something special would come of it. Today (March 10), we get their debut self-titled LP.

The album is short by these days' standards, coming in at 11 songs. The only features are Samora Pinderhughes on the tracks "Let's Go" and "Practice," and Brandy on the song, "Optimistic." The soulful project also features the song "Black Kennedy," which the trio recently performed on NPR's Tiny Desk Concert series. They made their live debut as a group at New York City's Highline Ballroom in January.

All three members have created magic together in the past. Riggins was the main producer on Common's most recent album, Black America Again, while Glasper also worked heavily on the project. "Me and Robert had talked about doing stuff for a long time," Riggins tells XXL. "But Common deserves the props for bringing us together to create. A lot of the time when I produce, everything is done, so a lot of the things he was brought in for, he added his touch and it put the music to another level."

Stream and purchase the August Greene album on Amazon.

August Greene's August Greene Album Tracklist

1. "Meditation"
2. "Black Kennedy"
3. "Let Go" featuring Samora Pinderhughes
4. "Practice" featuring Samora Pinderhughes
5. "Fly Away"
6. "Aya"
7. "Piano Interlude"
8. "No Apologies"
9. "The Time"
10."Optimistic" featuring Brandy
11."Swisha Suite"

August Greene
August Greene

See New Music Releases for March 2018

More From XXL