Phonte and Oddisee are not passive people. The Oddisee-produced "Requiem" is the first official single from the upcoming Mello Music Group compilation Persona; in the wake of the national (and international) unrest of late, the artists--hailing from North Carolina and Washington, DC, respectively--vent their frustrations. The former expresses the general fatigue that comes with endless killings ("But I'll be honest, man, I'm running out of shit to feel"), while the latter clarifies a few things ("My father came in '76/Not to get your job, but to get a job").

Listen to "Requiem," and check out the tracklist for Persona, due Mar. 10.


1. Requiem (feat. Oddisee & Phonte) [prod. Oddisee]
2. Homicide (feat. yU) [prod. Nottz]
3. PNT (feat. Ras Kass) [prod. Apollo Brown]
4. Celebrity Reduction Prayer (feat. Open Mike Eagle) [prod. Oddisee]
5. You First (feat. Rapper Big Pooh & Quelle Chris) [prod. Oh No]
6. Sometimes I Feel (feat. Kool Keith) [prod. L'Orange]
7. The Run (feat. Red Pill & Oh No) [prod. Oh No]
8. Troubles (feat. Masta Ace) [prod. Apollo Brown]
9. Word To The Wise (feat. Oddisee) [prod. Oddisee]
10. Dark Comedy Late Show (feat. Open Mike Eagle) [prod. Exile]
11. Circles Around Circles (feat. Gift of Gab) [prod. L'Orange]
12. Lose The Ground (feat. yU) [prod. Tall Black Guy]
13. House Rag (feat. Quelle Chris) [prod. I, Ced]
14. Darlin' (feat. Red Pill) [prod. Blockhead]
15. No Future (feat. Rapper Big Pooh) [prod. Apollo Brown]
16. All I See Is You (feat. Quelle Chris & Bilal Salaam) [prod. Quelle Chris]

Related: Phonte Compares Jay Z To ‘The Wire,’ Nas To ‘Breaking Bad,’ More
Boaz Featuring Termanolog​y, Oddisee And Vinny Radio “Like This (East Coast Remix)”
Stream Diamond District’s ‘March On Washington Redux’ LP

More From XXL