Open Mike Eagle is quietly one of the hardest-working men in show business. On Friday (Oct. 19), the Chicago rapper soared through with his new What Happens When I Try to Relax EP.

The follow-up to 2017's Brick Body Kids Still Daydream, OME shares six new solo tracks on the release. The Windy City rapper definitely has a full plate as an MC, content creator, podcaster, show-writer and more. Apparently, this is the result of what occurs when he tries to take a break from it all: fire new music.

XXL chopped it up with Eagle last October and he talked about his career progression, full schedule and the hunger for more. "My career path has been very strange, you know? Like, a lot of the things I do, just on paper, you wouldn't have expected me to be able to do it all, or even get close to doing some of the things I've been able to do," he said. "So I try to keep an awareness of that. And I think that in itself just keeps me excited enough to just keep doing it."

Listen to Open Mike Eagle's new What Happens When I Try to Relax EP below.

Open Mike Eagle's What Happens When I Try to Relax EP Tracklist

1. "Relatable (peak OME)"
2. "Every Single Thing"
3. "Microfiche"
4. "Single Ghosts"
5. "Southside Eagle"
6. "Maybe Gang (An Initiation)"

Auto Reverse
Auto Reverse

See 63 Hip-Hop Artists Who've Gone Gold in 2018

More From XXL