J.I.D has officially arrived. Today, the Dreamville Records artist let loose his eagerly anticipated project, The Never Story

The 13-track project, which includes features from EarthGang and 6LACK, sees the nimble wordsmith take you on a trip through East Atlanta as he cruises over a soulful soundscape and wows you with a dexterous flow and dynamic musical ability. XXL recently caught up with J.I.D to discuss his blooming career, and he said changing the perception of Atlanta's sound is one of his main goals.

“People try to discredit our city,” J.I.D told XXL a little while back. “Our city has a lot of flavors and it’s not all one type. It’s a different scene, it’s a different vibe and it’s Black people everywhere. Black people are creative as fuck; we are a different type of people. So Atlanta having all these qualities, they emphasize one side of it, the trap, and the flashiness. It has been and it’s people there who can do it and I just want to be on the forefront of that and this is what I came here to do.”

You can see if J.I.D manages to accomplish his goal by streaming The Never Story on Apple Music or downloading it on iTunes.

J.I.D’s The Never Story Tracklist

1. “Doo Wop” (prod. by Sean McVerry)
2. “General” (prod. by Latrell James and OZ the Additive)
3. “Never” (prod. by Christo and Childish Major)
4. “EdEddnEddy” (prod. by Hollywood JB)
5. “D/Vision” Feat. EarthGang (prod. by J.Cole)
6. “Hereditary” (prod. by Tha Officialz)
7. “All Bad” Feat. Mereba (prod. by Hollywood JB)
8. “Underwear” (prod. by Christo)
9. “8701” Feat. 6LACK (prod. by Childish Major)
10. “Hoodbooger” (prod. by SMKA)
11. “Somebody” (prod. by The Imaginary Kids)
12. “Lauder” (prod. by J. Cole)

12 Rappers Who Have 10 or More Solo Albums in Their Catalog

More From XXL