Iamsu is joining the fun of the surprise release trend. The Bay Area rapper dropped a new album called 6 Speed without any hint of its arrival prior to this week. Considering the project's title, it may be a sequel to his 2012 album Suzy 6 Speed. It also is a direct follow-up to his Kilt 3 album which dropped this past March.

6 Speed features 10 tracks with most of the production handled by Iamsu. Lil Rece and Tramua Tone handle the two tracks Iamsu did not produce on his own. Show Banga and Hella Rawh are the only guests appearing on the album.

Iamsu putting out his own surprise LP may have been inspired by Frank Ocean. The rapper was one of the few people to hear Ocean's Blonde album before its unexpected release last week.

"Damn frank ocean album blap! 🔥🔥🔥🔥," Iamsu wrote in a July tweet he would later delete. "He did not disappoint! thanks for letting me be apart of history bro! Worth the wait!"

Iamsu's new album arrives just a few days before his big IAMSUMMER show. The rapper will be joined by Kool John, Show Banga, Skipper and Dave Steezy at The Warfield in San Francisco on Aug. 27.

1. "Bo$$ Up" (prod. by Lil Rece)
2. "Fly Guy" Feat. Show Banga (prod. by Iamsu)
3. "By My Side" (prod. by Iamsu)
4. "Bad 2 the Bone" Feat. Hella Rawh (prod. by Iamsu)
5. "Another Day Another Dollar" (prod. by Iamsu)
6. "Nah for Real" (prod. by Iamsu)
7. "They Want Su!" (prod. by Iamsu)
8. "Rock Star" (prod. by Iamsu)
9. "So On" (prod. by Iamsu)
10. "Dogs" (prod. by Tramua Tone)

34 Rappers Going Platinum in 2016

More From XXL