While times have changed and music no longer sounds like it did 20 years ago, that gritty New York City approach predicated on bars and hooks is still held close to home by a number of artists in The Big Apple, young and old. Dave East and rap veteran Styles P are definitely still carrying the torch. On Thursday (Oct. 4), the Harlem spitta and LOX member team up for the new Beloved project.

The former XXL Freshman and The Ghost pump out a 13-song offering that features The LOX, Tisha Hyman, Jazzy and Dyce Payne. The collection is definitely hard-body. But what else would you expect from these New York staples? In promotion of the project, the two MCs will be performing at Irving Plaza on Oct. 17.

The project is surely a welcomed distraction for Dave East, who finds himself in a bit of legal trouble. The rapper is accused of allegedly punching a man in the face after a party on a yacht near Hudson River Park's Pier 40 in July. The punch reportedly caused a laceration above the alleged victim's eye. On Tuesday (Oct. 2), East turned himself in to New York police and was subsequently charged with misdemeanor assault. He is slated to appear in court again at a later date. Until then, the show must go on.

Listen to Dave East and Styles P's Beloved project below.

Dave East and Styles P's Beloved Tracklist

1. "Beloved" featuring Dyce Payne
2. "Its Lit"
3. "For All My Niggas"
4. "Shout Out My Hood"
5. "Don’t Cross Me" featuring Jazzy
6. "Exotic Shit"
7. "Do You Know What Time It Is"
8. "Cut From a Different Cloth"
9. "Rare Breed"
10. "We Got Everything"
11. "In the Jungle" featuring Tish Hyman
12. "Thots & Models"
13. "Load My Gun" featuring The LOX

Def Jam Record­­ings/Mass Appeal Records
Def Jam Record­­ings/Mass Appeal Records

See 63 Hip-Hop Artists Who've Gone Gold in 2018

More From XXL