Black Thought is one of the illest lyricists to ever touch a mic, period. Though he has a very storied career with The Roots, we've never gotten a solo album from the Philadelphia MC. We get the closest thing to it on Friday (June 1), as the lyrical monster releases his new project, Streams of Thought Vol. 1, with 9th Wonder & The Soul Council.

There has been talk of a solo Black Thought project for a few years now, specifically a collab with 9th. Last week, they officially announced the collab project would be coming out. The new offering consists of only five tracks, with guest appearances from Styles P, who appears on the previously-released song, "Making a Murderer," Rapsody and Kirby. But with the Vol. 1 designation it looks like this could be the first of more projects in a series.

Jamla beat collective The Soul Council, made up of producers 9th Wonder, Nottz, E. Jones, Eric G., Khrysis, Amp and Kash handle beat duties.

The cover, an art piece titled “Untitled Anxious Audience,” and created by Rashid Johnson, plays a significant role in the aesthetic of the project. "Visual art has always been an inspiration," Thought recently revealed on Instagram. "I was a visual artist when I was younger. Every type of medium, but it was my mode of expression before music. For this project I wanted the best artwork, especially from other Black artists with similar reference points. Rashid and I both explore memory. For Rashid it’s through his materials. African soap and wax, both familiar to his childhood. His pieces have a internal rhythm (follow his hand marks). And it’s about the individual and collective angst."

You want bars? Here you go.

Listen to Black Thought and 9th Wonder & The Soul Council's Streams of Thought Vol. 1 project below.

Black Thought's Streams of Thought Vol. 1 Tracklist

1. "Twofifteen"
2. "9th vs. Thought"
3. "Dostoyevsky" featuring Rapsody
4. "Making a Murderer" featuring Styles P
5. "Thank You" featuring Kirby


See New Music Releases for June 2018

More From XXL