Cypress Hill, Public Enemy and Rage Against The Machine formally announce their new supergroup, Prophets of Rage. The name of the supergroup references the 1988 Public Enemy track of the same name.

The supergroup's roster consists of Cypress Hill's B-Real, Public Enemy's Chuck D and DJ Lord and Rage Against The Machine's Tom Morello, Tim Commerford and Brad Wilk. According to an interview with Rolling Stone, the group has already recorded an original song together, titled "The Party Is Over."

Prophets of Rage recently sat down with KROQ 106.7 FM in Pasadena, Calif. for an extensive conversation detailing both the formation of the group as well as plans for future shows. The first concert is set for tonight in Los Angeles, with proceeds benefiting a help-the-homeless organization called PATH.

The new group sent an e-mail to its fans confirming the good news and announcing the inaugural show in L.A. The "elite task force of revolutionary musicians," as Morello refers to the group in the KROQ interview, will be playing music from all three acts' repertoires. In addition, Prophets of Rage will be introducing new music at their live shows.

You can also catch Public Enemy live in concert on Ice-T's The Art of Rap Festival, which is coming to eight cities during the months of July and August.

Group members not involved in the supergroup include Cypress Hill's Eric Bobo, Sen Dog and DJ Muggs, Public Enemy's Flavor Flav and Professor Griff and Rage Against The Machine's Zack de la Rocha.

30 Albums That Will Make You Appreciate Hip-Hop


More From XXL