AZ returns with a batch of songs that will remind youngins why there aren't many rappers who can measure up. After dropping the video for "It's Time," XXL debuts the Brooklyn native's new mixtape Legacy today (Jan. 29).

AZ's Legacy mixtape contains 23 freestyles and tracks featuring Nas, Raekwon, Styles P, DJ Premier, Moss, Vado, Planet Asia, Joe Budden and more. Although he's dropped a handful of singles over the years, this is AZ's first official mixtape since his 2013 project L.O.D.B II (Last Of A Dying Breed). It also includes a special intro from the Drink Champs podcast host N.O.R.E and DJ EFN, who both speak before AZ thanks the haters over a classic Jackson 5 sample.

Speaking on the project with XXL, AZ chose his favorite freestyle on Legacy. While he respects all of his offerings, he still has a favorite freestyle.

"All songs have their own life, meaning and purpose, but out of all the freestyles and features I'm a have to go with the 'Thank You' freestyle," AZ told XXL. "[It's because it's] a collage of old school break beats that I grew up off, that inspired me to navigate my way into this thing of written words and gave me room to express my many thoughts, daily rituals and mindset. I thank all haters and congratulators because one can not exit without the other."

Why's AZ dropping the project now? "The reason why is, my body of work consist of what the definition of legacy defines," says AZ, who says now's the right time to drop the Legacy mixtape. "I'm 25 years in, and the way social media is set up in 2019, I can reach more of the masses besides my hard core fan base and re-introduce myself as one of the true lyricists of that golden era who paved the way for the generation of today."

Listen to AZ's Legacy mixtape below.

AZ Legacy Mixtape Tracklist

1. "Drink Champs Intro"
2. "Thank You"
3. "Drama Hour Interlude
4. "Doo Wop Freestyle 1"
5. "Bouncemasta Interlude"
6. "It's Time"
7. "Doo Wop Freestyle 2"
8. "Da Jux" Featuring Vado
9. "Esco Interlude"
10. "The Season" Featuring Nas
11. "Rae Interlude"
12. "Blood Missile" Featuring Raekwon
13. "Honest Truth" Featuring 38 Spesh
14. "Overseas (Interlude)"
15. "My Niggas"
16. "Freestyle" Featuring Half-A-Mil
17. "So Good" Featuring Planet Asia
18. "Oil Money"
19. "Started" Featuring DJ Premier, Moss, and Joe Budden
20. "Sway Interlude"
21. "Genesis"
22. "Doo Wop Outro"
23. "Hardest" Featuring Styles P

Clockwork Music
Clockwork Music

See 65 Hip-Hop Albums Turning 20 in 2019

More From XXL