Taylor Bennett's Be Yourself EP has arrived via the Chi-town MC's new indie label Taylor Bennett Entertainment or TBE.

The intimate body of work, released via SoundCloud on Thursday (July 12), follows the 22-year-old's journey of becoming unapologetically himself. Throughout the six-track project Taylor discusses issues such as mass incarceration, financial inequality and matters of injustice. While the tape features guest appearances from the likes of Young Thug and more, Be Yourself ultimately finds the rapper holding up a mirror to himself and the world.

The project is to serve as a follow up to Taylor's sophomore EP, Restoration Of An American Idol, which featured his brother-in-rhyme Chance the Rapper, Lil Yachty, KYLE, Jeremih and others. Enamored by the idea of transparency, the "Rock 'N' Roll" lyricist has spent the last year working on Be Yourself, which he describes as "reading from his journal".

During a recent sit down with XXL, Taylor shared that he aims to challenge taboos with his new project. "Nobody else is going to be able to give you the comfortability and the satisfaction that you feel when you’re open and you’re actually living your truth," he said. "And if you’re worried about friends, if you’re worried about family, if you’re worried about any of those things, those people will love you for who you are. And if they don’t it’s a tough world, but you gotta’ be yourself."

It’s bold statements like this that have earned the midwestern sensation a seat at the table with other elite Chicago artists—but he has surely proved himself to be the lone wolf as he continues to advocate for those who can’t speak for themselves.

Check out the tracklist for Be Yourself and press play on Taylor Bennett's new project below.

Taylor Bennett's Be Yourself Tracklist
1. "Be Yourself" featuring Bianca Shaw
2. "Rock N Roll" featuring  ZXXK
3. "Hype Me Up" featuring Supa BWE
4. "Better Than You Ever Been" featuring Young Thug
5. "Everything I Can't Handle"
6. "Know Yourself" (Outro)

Taylor Bennett Entertainment
Taylor Bennett Entertainment

See New Music Releases for July 2018

More From XXL