It's been nearly three years since Oakland, Calif.'s own J. Stalin dropped his introspective Tears of Joy LP, and now he gets even more personal on the follow-up, Tears of Joy 2.

The rap veteran's latest, released last Friday (June 1), sees him going bar for bar with the likes of Mozzy, Too $hort, OMB Peezy and Iamsu! It's a storybook for the streets, told by those who've actually lived their life in them. J. Stalin also tapped 03 Greedo for "Work For It," a smoother track for the ladies.

One of the standout tracks on Tears of Joys 2 is "5 Minutes of Game," produced by TD Slaps. On the cut, Stalin raps "You don't know shit about growin up in the warzone/Needles outside, dope fiends in and out your home/You don't know shit about gettin it in the parking lot/You ain't never dropped them zips in a gumbo pot." Be sure to catch the video for "5 Minutes of Game" below.

This is the first we're hearing from Stalin since he dropped Tonite Show with DJ Fresh back in Aug. 2017, the latest in Fresh's 11-year Tonite Show series. In light of of his latest album, J. also announced the first annual Livewire Hip-Hop Festival, scheduled to kick off July 28.

Be on the lookout for more info on the Livewire Hip Hop Festival, and while you're waiting, stream Tears of Joy 2 below.

J. Stalin's Tears of Joy 2 Tracklist
1. "Tears of Joy" Featuring J Stew
2. "5 Minutes of Game"
3. "Make It Out" Featuring June, Mozzy and OMB Peezy
4. "The Code" Featuring P-LO
5. "Punishment" Featuring Salsalino and Too $hort
6. "Enough Money"
7. "Work For It" Featuring Iamsu!, Ziggy and 03 Greedo
8. "Tempo Slo"
9. "Changed on Me" Featuring Hitman Beatz
10. "Feelin It" Featuring Joseph Kay
11. "Cousins"
12. "Don't Worry"
13. "I Come From the Trenches" Featuring Young Spudd
14. "Mind of a Millionaire" Featuring Hitman Beatz
15. "Back Against the Wall" Featuring T-Rell
16. "Fuk Niggaz" Featuring Trap Kid
17. "On This Corner" Featuring Young Spudd
18. "Money Train" Featuring Stevie Joe


See New Music Releases for June 2018

More From XXL