If there's one thing about Drake that every hip-hop fan should should know, it's that the Canadian superstar is a student of the game.

Growing up influenced by the rap culture and its artists, Drizzy has praised his rap peers for their contributions to the game in various ways. Whether it be name-dropping his favorite artists in interviews, using memorable rap references or sampling classic hip-hop records in his music, Drake has always shown his respect to the rap community.

Most recently, legendary rapper DMX praised the Toronto MC for sampling his record "How's It Going Down" on the track "U With Me" off his Views album. In an interview with The Breakfast Club, the Dark Man X recalls telling himself, "For him to want to use a song of mine, and then to be man enough to make that call. That was a real move... it took a man to make a move like that. I salute him for that."

While in the past DMX was critical about Drake's rapping style and look, it seems like the phone call with Drake changed X's opinion for the better.

Having previously sampled the likes of Wu-Tang Clan, Juvenile, Lil Wayne and more, rap fans should expect more of Drizzy over classic hip-hop samples. Today, XXL looks back at all the hip-hop samples and rap song elements used in all of Drake's albums.

  • "Over My Dead Body"

    Contains elements of "Sailin' Da South" performed by DJ Screw.

  • "Under Ground Kings"

    Contains elements of "Neck of the Woods" performed by Birdman featuring Lil Wayne. Also contains elements of "Duffle Bag Boy" performed by Playaz Circle.

  • "Look What You’ve Done"

    Contains elements of "If U Scared, Say U Scared" performed by Playa.

  • "HYFR (Hell Ya Fucking Right)"

    Contains elements of "Swanging and Banging" performed by E.S.G.

  • "Practice"

    Contains elements of "Back That Azz Up" performed by Juvenile, Lil Wayne and Mannie Fresh.

  • "The Motto"

    Contains elements of "She Will" performed by Lil Wayne featuring Drake. Also contains elements of "Baby Got Back" performed by Sir Mix-a-Lot.

  • "Tuscan Leather"

    Contains interpolations of "Serious" performed by Steady B.

  • "Wu-Tang Forever"

    Contains samples of "It's Yourz" performed by Wu-Tang Clan.

  • "Pound Cake/Paris Morton Music 2"

    Contains interpolations of "C.R.E.A.M." performed by Wu-Tang Clan.

  • "U With Me"

    Contains samples of "What These Bitches Want" and contains an interpolations of "How's It Goin' Down" performed by DMX.

  • "Faithful"

    Contains samples of "Tom Ford (Remix)" by Jay Z featuring Pimp C.