Ghostface has teamed up with Canadian jazz trio BADBADNOTGOOD to record and release Sour Soul, a new 12-track album that is available for streaming today (Feb. 20). The set sports features from old-guard underground stalwarts DOOM and Elzhi, critical darling Danny Brown and Chicago newcomer Tree. More than happy to give Ghost the negative space through which he loves to maneuver, BBNG lays a sparse, menacing bed of sounds for the Wu-Tang savant. The whine is less nasally, the slang less inscrutable, but Ghost is still an unimpeachable storyteller, with an eye for details that elude the common man. The title track slinks languidly along; the DOOM collaboration clips along like a half-speed getaway scene. (Whether the two team up to finish their long-awaited DOOMSTARKS album remains to be seen, but their chemistry is still magnetic, even while metal face's voice comes back to Earth from the inhuman space it inhabited in the last two decades.)

Sour Soul feels like an extended riff. The conceit--Ghostface over live drums and jazz instrumentation, little clutter, less cheeriness--is realized to mostly excellent effect. While the rapper feels more utilitarian than he has on his best work, he's no less menacing, and nearly as unhinged as ever. The album is due out Feb. 24.

1. Mono
2. Sour Soul
3. Six Degrees (Feat. Danny Brown)
4. Gunshowers (Feat. Elzhi)
5. Stark's Reality
6. Tone's Rap
7. Mind Playing Tricks On Me
8. Street Knowledge (Feat. Tree)
9. Ray Gun (Feat. DOOM)
10. Nuggets Of Wisdom
11. Food
12. Experience

Related: Ghostface Killah, BADBADNOTGOOD & MF Doom Get Trippy In “Ray Gun” Video
Ghostface Killah And BADBADNOTGOOD’s Collaborative Album ‘Sour Soul’ Drops February 24

More From XXL