It's been quite the journey for Harlem's Charles Hamilton, who graced the first ever XXL Freshmen cover in 2009, and today, releases his debut album Hamilton, Charles. The rapper's battle with drug use and mental health issues have kept him away from the game, but he sounds renewed on his debut, speaking on his tougher times with honesty and clarity.

"They said I can't rap about being dark no more/They ain't say I cant rap about Charles no more," is the album's opening bar and may well be its thesis, Hamilton addressing many of the headlines he's made in recent years, such as in December of 2010, when he was arrested for assaulting two police officers. "I punched a cop knowing I would lose my freedom/I let journalists choose a reason," he raps on "Correct," owning his actions even if an answer isn't there.

Last week, the rapper released a preview of his tell-all documentary Faultlinesdirected by Fred Scott and produced by Pulse Productions along with Red Bull. The film is described as Hamilton's "story of survival and redemption, both creatively and emotionally.”

Listen to Hamilton, Charles below courtesy of Spotify and peep the tracklist as well. There are no features here, Hamilton by his lonesome as he delivers his debut.

Charles Hamilton's Hamilton, Charles tracklist

1. “Oh Well”
2. “Clowns”
3. “Everyone”
4. “Correct”
5. “Be With You”
6. “Make Yourself Over”
7. “Man’s World”
8. “MVP”
9. “Only Christina Knows”
10. “Real Life”
11. “Stay There”
12. “Ugly Supermodel”

20 of Your Favorite Rappers Naming Their Favorite Rappers

More From XXL