Contact Us

Quick News on Nas, The Detroit Hip-Hop Awards, and Spider Loc

nas2.jpgNas is preparing to release a greatest hits album this November through his former label, Columbia Records. The compilation will feature 12 songs from his eight studio LP’s, plus two newly recorded songs. One of the tracks, “Less Than An Hour,” debuted on AOL Music on August 10, and features Cee-Lo Green of Goodie Mob and Gnarls Barkley fame. The track is a new take on the theme to the hugely successful Rush Hour film trilogy starring Chris Tucker and Jackie Chan, and will appear on the upcoming Rush Hour 3 soundtrack.

The 5th Annual Detroit Hip-Hop Awards ceremony will take place tonight (August 13) at Plan B nightclub on W. Congress Street in the D. Founded in 2003 by Mike “Money Mic” Matkin, and DJ Knice of, the awards seek to honor local artists who might otherwise go unrecognized on the national level. There are 20 different award categories including Song, Album and Video of the Year. Detroit natives Trick Trick, Guilty Simpson and Black Milk are all scheduled to perform, and area mainstay Phat Kat will receive the Detroit Recognition Award. The Detroit News reports that previous recipients of the accolade include Eminem’s manager Paul Rosenberg and slain D-12 member Proof.

50 Cent won’t be the only G-Unit artist with a new album in stores on September 11. Los Angeles native Spider Loc is releasing his debut LP West Kept Secret, ‘The Prequel’ on the historic date. The project is coming out through Loc’s independent label, Baymacc, and will be distributed by RBC Records and Koch. “I wanted to represent me,” Spider says of the title. “I am the West Kept Secret and it describes me in the essence.”

The tracklisting for West Kept Secret, ‘The Prequel’ is as follows:

1. “SPI”
2. “Blutiful World” featuring E-Note
3. “Big Blacc Boots” featuring Ice Cube
4. “Get Right Down”
5. “Sometimes”
6. “All I Know” featuring E-Note
7. “Look At Me” featuring E-Note
8. “Make You Love Me”
9. “Russ”
10. “Hustle To You Come Up”
11. “Hold On”
12. “Close to the Edge”
13. “Cry and Cry” featuring L.O.V.E.
14. “I Like”
15. “Blutiful world (Remix)” featuring Papa Smurf & Piper

Recommended For You

Around the Web

Best of XXL

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for XXL Mag quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!