• S
    • M
    • L
    • XL
    • XXL
      • XXL
      • XL
      • L
      • M
      • S

Joe Budden, “No Love Lost” Album Review

Starring in VH1′s latest Love & Hip Hop series, being a member of Slaughterhouse and other commitments have not sidetracked Joe Budden’s solo career, which makes headway thanks to No Love Lost, Budden’s new LP that eases him from his past and resolves him to improve in the future, when possible.

Diehard Mood Muzik fans may feel both shocked and disinterested after hearing the second track, “Top of the World” featuring a tuneful hook by Kirko Bangz. The song’s upbeat, almost unsettlingly distinct from Joe’s renowned mixtape series, Mood Muzik. The same goes for the next two records (“She Don’t Put It Down” and “NBA”). Be that as it may, it is indisputable that all three joints are single-ready, especially the latter with sharp verses from Wiz Khalifa, French Montana and Joe himself, who checks NBA players to structure his metaphors. Naysayers who questioned Budden’s songwriting, and castigated him as a one-hit wonder, who’s stuck with 2003′s “Pump It Up,” can get a taste of both radio-friendly bangers and A1 lyrics on this album.

Like “Runaway,” “My Time” and “No Love Lost (Outro),” “Castles” caters to his mixtape following, as the Mood God chronicles relationships strained by his fame. “Why would you take advantage when it’s something I’d gave to you?/And in the long run, it doesn’t take from me/ It takes from you/ You’d probably tell me I’m a fucked up nigga/ You got it wrong/ I just won’t be fucked up wit ya,” Joe laments. In similar fashion, “All In My Head” and “Skeletons” sound sulky yet truthful with backings from Slaughterhouse members Royce Da 5’9″ on the former encapsulating internal pains, Joell and Crooked I on the latter sharing murky thoughts.

What’s more, the New Jersey wordsmith, who is undisguised when it comes to his intimate affairs, provides for his growing female public with the soulful “You and I,” which he recently dubbed the album’s “song for all the people in love.” The track catalogs the appreciation of one’s better half. Strikingly different, the clearly suggestive “Switch Positions” spin the topic of intimacy to eroticism and “Tell Him Somethin” documents infidelity.

With No Love Lost, none of Budden’s fans lose. He has something for all of them. It is very close to a decade after his self-titled debut dropped, yet Budden seems as new now as he did then. The album probably has more features than any other Budden project, but it’s not overbearing. Also, Joe does not move away aimlessly from what he is good at and what he enjoys, as clearly showcased through the endings with live instrument solos (“You and I,” “Ghetto Burbs” and “Tell Him Somethin”). Lastly, the Mood God lives up to his name, distributing many emotions that are symbolic of all those he has experienced as an artist and as a man throughout his career that seems to be resurrected, in a good mood. —Christopher Minaya (@CM_3)

Recommended for You

Around the Web

Best of XXL

  • http://twitter.com/thefreshuno ADAM ARCENEAUX

    Seems like the guy has turned things around for a brighter look on what’s ahead.

  • bread

    im gonna cop

  • TheChosenOne

    shits dope people ragging on it but he’s got catchy hooks and bars that pack a punch best of both worlds. definitely headed down a path to be more commercial. you can even tell now as hot 97 DJs been playing more of him. he’s got the potential to go commercial and compete against other well known rappers…evident from the fact he held his own on tracks with wiz Wayne fabo and French..would have given it an XXL

    • regular joe

      ”he held his own on tracks with wiz Wayne fabo and French” not hard to do that but ok. he couldve featured better emcees.. freddie gibbs or reks apollo the great, the horseshoe gang.. i dont know.. least he couldve done was keep wayne off the record. wayne just one of those dudes, get him on a track you aint getting respect from the underground anymore

      • Thats_Shin

        Gibbs, Reks, and Horseshoe Gang??? All very dope MCs/Crew but the objective is to move from the MM lane and actually sell records with out sacrificing bars. The production is commercial, the hooks are catchy, but you can’t front like Joe didn’t spit in typical Joe fashion. The dood put in 10 yrs and had 1 hit. He’s one of the most respected lyricists in the underground circuit, your suggested features would have made MM5; clearly not what he’s trying to do

      • LostMyWay

        fuck the underground… I like what I like, some of it sells nothing, some of its sells millions, some of it is “in” to like and some of it isn’t.

        all’s I ever see when someone says “The Underground” is someone who is more interested in fitting in with a crowd than what music kills.

        maybe he doesn’t want you’re respect? or you’re money… maybe he just wants to rap how he wants to rap, and make the songs he wants to make, ever considered that?

        as soon as Joe does go commercial, you will claim you listened to him back in day, and he isn’t shit now, so go listen to you’re underground, most talent makes’ it above ground if it wants too… some don’t care.


  • http://www.facebook.com/people/Josh-Kriese/679741033 Josh Kriese

    Skip the first 4 tracks, and its a winner

  • Norman Batez

    Great album I’ll be bumping this for a while

  • http://twitter.com/GlobalHHB Globalhiphopbattles

    good album though

  • http://www.facebook.com/nynativ Carlos E. Tejeda

    That Skeletons track was the only one that I really liked. Most of the album just sounded like an R&B album. Not his best work.

  • JohnPaul8731

    This album was tough…Budden been underrated as a MC. THis album does have a Drake like feel too it but Budden ain’t no bitch when he raps. “Top Of The World” ft Kirko Bangz is a banger. “She Don’t Put It Down” ft Wayne & Tank is cool tho I think the remix is better with Fab & Twista. Alot dope tracks & nice lyrics. I just think if he had a major label, i think he could have better numbers.