Funk Volume emerged from a combination of frustration and ambition. As XXL detailed back in our most recent issue, the L.A. based label formed after rapper Hopsin went through a messy split with Ruthless Records that left the contact-sporting artist with a bad taste in his mouth. Determined to stay independent, Hopsin and his business partner Damien “Dame” Ritter founded the company in 2008, designing it as an independent home for artists who fall outside the mainstream, and now, 5 years later, the company is standing stronger than ever.

With the release of Hopsin's latest album, Knock Madness, next week on November 26, XXL has decided to throw a spotlight on the label's efforts over the last few years, selecting 10 songs that show the lyrical dexterity and sonic diversity of Funk Volume's roster. From Hopsin to Dizzy Wright to SwizZz to newcomer Jarren Benton, the label has become known for testing the limits of hip-hop. So turn up the volume and dive in.