Yasiin Bey, formerly known as Mos Def, has dropped Dec 99th, a collaborative album with artist Ferrari Sheppard. Last week, Bey issued a statement on the album, which was supposed to drop earlier in the month, on Dec. 9. “Dark bodies, bright crest, the kings grew nervous,” it read. “A boy drew a gun, and then sold the portrait. And then used the cash to heat the stove at the palace. Soon. Very soon.”

Sheppard took to Facebook afterward (Dec. 11), writing, “Yes, the album is coming out. Delay not my fault…” The is one of three projects Bey plans to release, Negus in Natural Person and the Mannie Fresh-produced As Promised You to come later.

The musician as well has performances planned in Washington D.C. near the turn of the year, and one tonight (Dec. 21) at New York City's Apollo Theater. He said in October during a Facebook Live video that he still intends to hang the mic up, saying, "I'm retiring this year for real...I'm grateful to have had a career that I've been able to enjoy."

Tidal subscribers can listen below.

Yasiin Bey's Dec 99th Tracklist

1. “NAW”
2. “Blade in the Pocket”
3. “SPESH”
4. “Local Time”
5. “Tall Sleeves”
6. “Seaside Panic Room”
7. “Shadow in the Dark”
8. “IT GOES”
9. “Special Dedication”
10. “Heri”

16 Rappers Who Said They Were Retiring During Their Career