Kendrick Lamar Inks with Aftermath, ScHoolboy Q Signs to Interscope Records

It’s official: Kendrick Lamar is signed to Aftermath/Interscope Records.

According to, Top Dawg Entertainment—Kendrick’s parent label—has signed a joint venture deal with Dr Dre’s Aftermath Entertainment and Interscope Records, according to Top Dawg founder Anthony “Top Dawg” Tiffith. This means Kendrick’s upcoming, as-yet-titled album will be released jointly through Top Dawg, Aftermath and Interscope. Future releases by ScHoolboy Q, Ab-Soul and Jay Rock will be released through Top Dawg and Interscope.

In related news, Kendrick Lamar is set to headline XXL magazine’s SXSW showcase on March 13 at Transmission Warehouse in Austin, Texas. K. Dot will be joined by 2012 Freshmen Future, Danny Brown and Hopsin. The stop kicks off the Monster Energy Outbreak Tour Presents the , which will continue to Los Angeles, San Francisco, Atlanta and New York.

Kendrick has enjoyed a momentum-building year since the 2011 cover was revealed. The Top Dawg Entertainment rapper dropped his critically acclaimed project Section.80 in July, which included the J. Cole-produced single “HiiiPoWer.” The release earned high praise from fans, critics and fellow artists, including Drake, who tapped K. Dot for a guest verse on his album Take Care and then brought him along as a performer for the nationwide Club Paradise Tour. The Compton native is now working on a follow up to Section.80, due out later this year.

For more information on shows or tickets, visit —Gina Montana

Recommended for You

Around the Web

Best of XXL

  • BC

    shady/aftermath isn’t to be fucked w/ right now. i wanna see a track w/ black hippy and slaughterhouse.

  • The god of rap

    Real rap get permanent income -Kendrick Lamar. I’m glad see that hip hop is moving in the right direction by signing them.

  • http://facebook JayyAree..

    Thank you God, i wanna hear some REAL Hip-Hop…

  • Pingback: Kendrick Lamar Officially Signs to Aftermath, ScHoolboy Q Joins Interscope | rap, hip hop, r&b music, news, reviews

  • positive terror

    Great news but i hope Aftermaths dnt alter with Lamar’s integrelity & kinda music,just like Atlantic did to Lupe Fiasco

  • greenlite616

    I’m glade to here about the signing of kendrick lamar to aftermath only thing I hope is dre puts his album out for real

  • acb87

    bad move this is the same label that cant releases its owners on album. they same label that has signed dozen of top tier mc’s to only shelve them then drop them. dont let em and 50 success fool you. this label is run by on of the lazy , no balls having owners in the game.

  •,,AKAhounddogg Hound Dogg,,King of Rap-A-Billy

    If you never been singed with this label or another,you should remember there is a internal business where other people make a decision about what is good or bad,,yes and sometimes they are wrong I see music and artist on TV and wonder how they got there,,I have song,s myself that are new ,(they say they want new song’s) but when you can’t get to talk ti them what’Z up!!!! Go to my site and listen to some different and new rap,,(COUNTRY),,akahounddogg,,,hip hop has a Snoop Dogg country needs a Hound Dogg,,I have about 350 songs and writting every day there are rap,rock.blues,country,and love songs all with a new apraoch,,,these on this site are just a start,I do have a CD that I’m selling out of my truck,,peace and love alll

  • http://guagua the m.o.

    bout x somebody gon to put some real hip hop slaughterhouse ,shady good newz official