New Cee-Lo Solo LP Coming Next Year On A Reborn Elektra Records

Cee-Lo will drop a solo new album under a re-launched Elektra imprint as early as the end of the year, according to Billboard.

The Dungeon Family singer has diverted from his Southern-fried roots in recent years, collaborating with DJ Danger Mouse — the man behind the Jay-Z mash up classic The Grey Album — for 2006’s alt-funk breakthrough St. Elsewhere and its equally experimental follow-up, The Odd Couple.

“We are planning on building an eclectic brand,” said new Elektra head honcho John Janick. “We’re looking for artists with potential. We’re not an incubator label; we’re going to develop artists and get them to the next level.”

Cee-Lo most recently appeared on Asher Roth’s latest single, “Be By Myself” on the suburban sensations’ debut Asleep In The Bread Aisle.- Devin Chanda

Recommended for You

Around the Web

Best of XXL

  • 14snipez

    Thank God a trill southern MC fillin n da gaps of mediocrity n hip-hop. I know his albums not gunna sell 2 high but i can look forward 2 sum dop funked-out musik. Now if i could just get dat long delayed Big Boi solo LP out on shelves i’d b alright

  • BeerGangsta!!!

    One thing I like about C-lo is different from other Rappers. Get Rich to this was the best jam and They don’t dance no more. If you don’t like those 2 songs. You ara a hating bitch.

  • just jay

    Cee-Lo is another underrated rapper. Listen to Cee-lo green is a sou machine, I know he sings a lot but when he actually spits…mane!

  • $ykotic

    Elektra’s back? NOOOOOOOOOO…

    Cee-Lo! Drop some Goodie music! Them cats were fire!

  • Azhar

    If it aint on some ole Goodie Mob southern shit…I’m cool, but do ur thang bruh!

  • DownSouth

    “We’re looking for artists with potential. We’re not an incubator label.”

    I like that. Sounds like they plan on signing some dope creative artists.


  • DazzOne

    Why aren’t labels clamoring for the next Cee-lo or Goodie Mob? Why do Houston Rapper rap/act like Scarface and The Geto Boys aren’t their fathers?
    Because anti-intellectualism and stupidity sells!

    But everything Cee-lo has dropped is dope. Even though I know it won’t go multi plat like Outkast, I’ll still cop. No Ricky.

    • yo yo yo

      co-sign homie

      i still bump still standing like it came out yesterday! soul food is dope too. all cee-lo solo albums have been on point. i been waiting on this!

  • BogotaBob

    This nigga look like a big azz midget

  • yaOK

    he needs to come out with that new gnarls barkley though. seriously.

  • Beast McCoy

    If Sylvia Rhone isn’t involved why bother bringing this label back. She had a DEEP roster with Missy, Busta and etc. I always wondered what led to the downfall of one of the 90′s most profitable imprints/labels?

  • Pingback: New Cee-Lo Solo LP Coming Next Year On A Reborn Elektra Records - The Leak